Item added to your cart.

Magical Thinking
Chico Mann
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 15, 2013

Displaying his mastery over an arsenal of studio weapons and synthesizers, Chico Mann (aka Marcos Garcia) scores his fifth long player against a backdrop of pop sensibilities and guest vocalists. The album draws as much on 80's funk, boogie and electro as merengue and Afro-beat.

A member of Antibalas, multi instrumentalist and guitarist, Garcia has in the past worked with the likes of TV On The Radio, The Roots and Dam Funk as well as remixing Little Dragon and Alice Russell.

His LP 'Analog Drift' (2010) was released through Wax Poetics Records, an album that he toured throughout the US. Jon Pareles (NY Times) praised his live show’s “far-reaching electronica” that had the ability “to dissolve decades, along with borders”.

Where previous Chico Mann material drew heavily on his afrobeat roots, 'Magical Thinking' taps in to a new vein of thinking, where the 80's funk, boogie and electro sounds of New York and Miami dominate the sonic landscape. Featuring a selection of guest vocalists, and mixed by Brooklyn producer / musician Jeremy Page (That Handsome Devil), 'Magical Thinking' is Chico Mann's most ambitious and accomplished project to date.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Comes and Goes 4:56 Buy
  2. 2 Edge of It 4:51 Buy
  3. 3 Same Old Clown 4:49 Buy
  4. 4 Long Time Gone 5:29 Buy
  5. 5 Vivito (El Colibir) 5:11 Buy
  6. 6 Magic Touch 2:42 Buy
  7. 7 Esta Bueno 5:25 Buy
  8. 8 Estrellitas (Little Stars) 5:47 Buy
  9. 9 I Feel It 4:25 Buy
  10. 10 One Day Late 3:06 Buy
  11. 11 Vengo a Ti 5:35 Buy
  12. 12 Oye, Mira 3:40 Buy

Chico Mann

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences