Item added to your cart.

No Compromise
Weird Together
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 8, 2014

Helmed by Tokyo based New Zealand journalist, DJ and music encyclopaedia Nick Dwyer and legendary Auckland based English music producer and DJ Dick "Magik J" Johnson, Weird Together is one of the most globally minded dance music projects to emerge from the South Pacific in recent times.

Weird Together began as an opportunity for the two to turn their hand to fashioning their own idiosyncratic re-imaginings of their favourite regional dance music genres from Africa, South America and the Caribbean. After securing a prime spot at the Splore Music Festival in 2012 they formed a live band with Karima Madut (vocals), Mavs Adegbite (percussion/vocals), Izak Chadderton (steel pan), Alesano Schuster (steel pan), The Gaza Tripp (guitar) and Yonier Cuevas Vega (MC), in the process successfully bringing their music from the studio to the stage.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 No Compromise 3:27 Buy

    No Compromise

  2. 2 Mbira 6:00 Buy


  3. 3 Gban Gban Lewa 4:41 Buy

    Gban Gban Lewa

  4. 4 Kalahari 6:17 Buy


  5. 5 Karima's Story 6:25 Buy

    Karima's Story

Weird Together

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences