Item added to your cart.

Nigeria Special: Modern Highlife, Afro-Sounds & Nigerian Blues 1970-6
Various Artists
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 3, 2007

Nigeria 1970. Highlife, afro-beat, rock, jazz & native blues rub shoulders and are turned out at an unprecedented level. New styles meet old. Newly found national confidence follows the near break up of the nation following the Biafran war. New fashions meet old, forging new fusions.

Soundway presents 26 original and previously un-reissued tracks from the time. Obscure a-sides, b-sides & album cuts that have resisted a second look until now.

“A deep selection that yields more with each listen, this is recommended for aficionados and passing fans alike” Songlines

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Ayamma The Anambra Beats 4:07 Buy
  2. 2 Okwukwe Na Nchekwube Celestine Ukwu and his Philosophers National 6:11 Buy
  3. 3 Amalinja The Don Isaac Ezekiel Combination 5:17 Buy
  4. 4 Akula Owu Onyeara The Funkees 7:31 Buy
  5. 5 Oja Omoba Dele Ojo and His Star Brothers Band 3:43 Buy
  6. 6 Koma Mosi The Harbours Band 2:56 Buy
  7. 7 Nekwaha Semi Colon The Semi Colon 3:31 Buy
  8. 8 Osalobua Rekpama Sir Victor Uwaifo and his Melody Maestros 3:22 Buy
  9. 9 Onwu Ama Dike St. Augustine and His Rovers Dance Band 6:07 Buy
  10. 10 Feso Jaiye The Sahara All Stars of Jos 4:10 Buy
Show All Tracks 26
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences