Item added to your cart.

Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 16, 2012
  • Vinyl 12”


    Gatefold Triple Vinyl Album + Bonus 7"

    Read More
    • + MP3
    • + WAV / FLAC


  • CD 2×CD

    Sold out

    Deluxe Double CD

    Read More
    • + MP3


    Deluxe limited double CD edition housed in a casebound package with 52-page booklet featuring photographs of the recording session.

  • CD



    Read More
    • + MP3


Conceived by Colombian musician Mario Galeano, the force behind the band Frente Cumbiero, and English producer Will ‘Quantic’ Holland, Ondatrópica brings together an all-star cast representing both the classic and modern styles of la musica Colombiana.

For the recording Will and Mario were joined by Colombian legends including big-hitting saxophonist Michi Sarmiento, multi-instrumentalist Fruko and accordion-playing don and singer Anibal Velasquez as well as a new wave of Colombian and South American musicians such as Chilean MC Ana Tijoux and El Chongo, a young percussionist and beatboxer from the city of Cartagena on the Caribbean coast.

A mixture of well known and classic Colombian styles such as cumbia, porro, gaita and champeta clash head-on with boogaloo, ska, beat-box, hip hop, dub and funk on the record. The tracks range from straight-up timeless pieces with one foot in the 1960s and 70s to progressive and forward-looking recordings firmly rooted in the 21st century. Mario and Will also adopted a 100% analogue recording approach in tribute to a sound and feel that the studio had been lacking for some years now.

Standard CD features 7 bonus download tracks + 28 page booklet documenting the creation of the record and the artists involved.

Deluxe 2XCD features full album + 52 page booklet documenting the creation of the record and the artists involved.

3XLP comes with bonus 7" + full booklet documenting the creation of the record and the artists involved.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Tiene Sabor, Tiene Sazón 4:33 Buy

    Tiene Sabor, Tiene Sazón

  2. 2 Punkero Sonidero 3:29 Buy

    Punkero Sonidero

  3. 3 I Ron Man 2:52 Buy

    I Ron Man

  4. 4 Suena 5:00 Buy


  5. 5 Locomotora Borracha 3:09 Buy

    Locomotora Borracha

  6. 6 Remando 4:52 Buy


  7. 7 Ska Fuentes 4:21 Buy

    Ska Fuentes

  8. 8 3 Reyes de la Terapia 3:45 Buy

    3 Reyes de la Terapia

  9. 9 Libya 3:22 Buy


  10. 10 Gaita Trópica 2:36 Buy

    Gaita Trópica

Show All Tracks 26


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences