Item added to your cart.

Sounds From The Workshop
Reuben Vaun Smith
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 27, 2021

Digital release date: 27 August 2021

Vinyl release date: 24 September 2021 - expected shipping 26 November 2021 due to manufacturing delays that are unfortunately out of our hands

Having further honed his craft, Reuben Vaun Smith returns to Soundway Records with a sonic odyssey through lo-fi Balearic and Afro-Caribbean influenced synth.

Smith’s second album continues his exploration into improvised live instruments and programming, while venturing into new territories of music-making and genres including soca, benga and trip hop. Also sliding into the mix are organic sounds and riffs reminiscent of 2000s Villalobos sunrise scorchers such as ‘Waiworinao’, keeping the Balearic thread firmly present throughout the album.

Having learned to sail along the southern coast of Spain in the last year, Smith spent a winter locked down in Yorkshire, channeling summer memories into his music and drawing influences from his own record collection which he would play everyday in the studio. With a few local friends and his brother to jam with, the result is dreamy and lo-fi, with more guitar-led melodies, distant vocals and lush pads.

Smith’s debut album from 2020, ‘Warm Nights’, received an array of rave reviews and support from DJs including Tom Ravenscroft, Antal and Bill Brewster. One year later, Reuben Vaun Smith delivers a matured, varied sound and a glimpse into his incredible future potential.

Mastered by Frank Merritt at The Carvery Studio

Artwork by Riccardo Corda

All tracks written and produced by Reuben Vaun Smith

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Sun Sun 4:11 Buy

    Sun Sun

  2. 2 Hold Out 4:49 Buy

    Hold Out

  3. 3 Deliciosa 4:14 Buy


  4. 4 Higher Higher 3:54 Buy

    Higher Higher

  5. 5 To Live by the Sea 3:34 Buy

    To Live by the Sea

  6. 6 Blind Love 4:36 Buy

    Blind Love

  7. 7 Everybody Wants To Move 4:05 Buy

    Everybody Wants To Move

  8. 8 Rise & Shine 3:41 Buy

    Rise & Shine

  9. 9 Truth 4:09 Buy


  10. 10 El Shiggy 5:23 Buy

    El Shiggy

  11. 11 Disco Schiaparelli 4:57 Buy

    Disco Schiaparelli

  12. 12 Flee The Coop 3:21 Buy

    Flee The Coop

  13. 13 Euphoria 5:01 Buy


  14. 14 Eternal Return 4:20 Buy

    Eternal Return

  15. 15 Sounds From The Workshop 7:44 Buy

    Sounds From The Workshop

Reuben Vaun Smith

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences