Item added to your cart.

Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 25, 2012

KonKoma was originally conceived by saxophonist Max Grunhard and producer Ben Lamdin who wanted to form a group around a pair of highly-respected and well-known Ghanaian musicians -- Alfred Bannerman and Emmanuel Rentzos. Both have been working musicians for a long time having worked with the likes of Bobby Womack and Hugh Masakela, as well as regularly playing with long-time afro-rock band Osibisa.

Previews of the new album showcase a firm nostalgia for a classic 70's West African sound that isn't afraid to update the music with modern stylings. The band also is not afraid to go beyond that sound and incorporate acoustic guitars and kora for a rich offering. As expected, the musicians sound at the top of their game throughout and the band is extremely tight.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Lie Lie 5:44 Buy
  2. 2 Sibashaya Woza 4:18 Buy
  3. 3 Handkerchief 4:07 Buy
  4. 4 Shimmy Nashi Goro 4:26 Buy
  5. 5 Kpanlogo 5:47 Buy
  6. 6 Accra Jump 3:49 Buy
  7. 7 Niebakwa 4:22 Buy
  8. 8 Another Day 4:23 Buy
  9. 9 Yoo Eh 4:21 Buy
  10. 10 Me-Kyin-Kyin 3:57 Buy
  11. 11 Senture 4:49 Buy
  12. 12 Jojo's Song 5:37 Buy


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences