Item added to your cart.

Eye of the Sun EP
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 21, 2014

Fantasma, the project of South African innovator and creative pioneer Spoek Mathambo, is a five-man collective which weaves together electronica, hip-hop, traditional Zulu maskandi music, shangaan electro, South African house, psych-rock and punk to form a unique, original and fresh hybrid.

The godfather of ‘Bacardi House’, producer DJ Spoko joins with former Machineri guitarist André Geldenhuys, drummer Michael Buchanan and maskandi multi-instrumentist Bhekisenzo Cele to complete the line up.

Fused by Spoek Mathambo’s futurist vision, Fantasma pulls inspiration from all corners of South Africa: the sounds and spirits of townships and cities as well as the rural countryside. It is diverse not only in its membership but also in its forward-looking music.

Title track ‘Eye of the Sun’ kicks off at a frenetic pace, with the interplay between Cele’s bass & Geldenhuys psych guitar at the forefront. ‘Shangrila’ is all sunshine and warmth and features South African artist Moonchild on vocals.

‘Sefty Belt’ shimmers over 5 minutes with Geldenhuys’s hazy guitar complementing the soul vocals of guest vocalist JOSIAHWISE IS THE SERPENTWITHFEET.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Eye of the Sun 5:25 Buy

    Eye of the Sun

  2. 2 Shangrila 3:43 Buy


  3. 3 Sefty Belt 5:09 Buy

    Sefty Belt

  4. 4 Shesha Span (Hell Yeah) 4:42 Buy

    Shesha Span (Hell Yeah)

  5. 5 Fafi 3:38 Buy



--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences