Item added to your cart.

The Dawn Of Awareness
Mono Mono
Soundway Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 26, 2011

Soundway is proud to present the second of two blistering albums of Afro rock and funk from Nigerian multi-instrumentalist Joni Haastrup and his band MonoMono. Re-issued on vinyl are two of Nigeria's most coveted releases: MonoMono's 1971 debut album 'Give The Beggar A Chance', and the follow up 'The Dawn of Awareness'.

Soundway has championed Joni Haastrup since day one featuring MonoMono tracks on both the 'Nigeria Special!' and 'Nigeria Rock Special!' releases. Growing up in a royal household in Nigeria, Joni Haastrup began his musical journey performing for his brothers band Sneakers and was quickly snapped up as a vocalist for O.J. Ekemode and his Modern Aces' 'Super Afro Soul' LP, one of Afro-beat's formative LPs. Soon after, Ginger Baker of Cream fame replaced Steve Winwood with Joni on keys for Airforce's UK concerts in '71 and the success of the collaboration led to further shows with Baker as part of the Salt project before he returned to Nigeria to set up MonoMono.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Plain Fighting 5:39 Buy

    Plain Fighting

  2. 2 Ipade Aladun 8:07 Buy

    Ipade Aladun

  3. 3 Get Yourself Together 5:04 Buy

    Get Yourself Together

  4. 4 Awareness Is Wot You Need 6:18 Buy

    Awareness Is Wot You Need

  5. 5 Make Them Realise 6:41 Buy

    Make Them Realise

  6. 6 Tire Loma Da Nigbehin 4:46 Buy

    Tire Loma Da Nigbehin

Mono Mono

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences